Month: January 2014

  • People are jerks.

    Ninjacat (226)

     

    So, we have taken in the cute cat pictured. He started hanging around our house around New Year's. He went MIA for a little bit than a few days ago he came back around, we gave him some canned food then he tried to follow me when it came down to picking up my daughter from school. I didn't want him to get run over since he was trying to follow me to the road, I had my husband come and swoop him up and bring him inside. For now, he's in our upstairs bathroom since he isn't fixed and he has a vet appointment on Monday where we will see if he has a chip in him or not.

     

    The night we took him in my eight year old asked why he was so hungry. Since we've brought him in, he's been eating a lot of food. I had to explain to my daughter that we don't know how long he's been out on his own and when the last time he had a good meal was so he was hungry. This turned into another huge conversation with her about how people are jerks to animals. I figured I'd have to one of these days have this conversation since we've taken in and helped numerous stray animals over the years up to and including a stray turkey. I had to explain to her why it's not okay to just leave behind an animal on the street and why people sometimes do it, basically all the harsh realities of the world and why when you buy a pet its important to keep up on your responsibility and do right for the pet.

     

    Like I said earlier: We've taken in so many stray animals over the years and only one of them were we able to find the owner. Yep, we took in a little doggie(girl) and she had a tag and when we called the owner they were happy to come and pick up their little girl other than that people just ditch their animals and expect someone else to take care of them. Yes, I told my daughter all about how people are jerks sometimes when it comes to their pets. The hubby and I have been trying to see if anyone claims this cat but so far no one has claimed him and well, my daughter is more than willing to make this guy 'her cat'. She wants to take care of him, feed him and love him. Of course, no choices will be made until the vet visit on Monday. Yes, some people may be jerks but I do know more than one person whose like the hubby and myself: Those who want to help animals that are found lonely and hungry.

  • But he's just a Dad?!!

    Yet again, another interesting story showed up today. Here it is: http://shine.yahoo.com/parenting/awesome-dad-styles-daughter-39-hair-breaks-internet-204400163.html

    It's your average everyday Dad doing his daughters hair because his wife was running late for work. For some reason, this picture has caused people to get angry and even bad mouth the father for taking the picture.

    Correct me if I'm wrong but shouldn't this Dad be praised? Don't we want more men to be involved with their children? Being a 'real man' is more than just bringing in the money and leaving everything else up to woman at home. I've seen my husband put up my daughter's hair on more than one occasion, he's even put on princess crowns for her and he lets her brush his hair too. I just don't understand why people are hating on this father? Is it because they aren't man enough to do something like this or is it something else?

    Meanwhile, you have this going: http://www.complex.com/music/2014/01/young-jeezy-arrested-son?utm_source=Sailthru&utm_medium=email&utm_term=Twice%2520a%2520Week&utm_campaign=Twice%2520a%2520Week%25202014-01-07

    and certain people are actually trying to defend his actions? Really? You hurt your child like that and some people are seriously, trying to not jump to conclusions and not the judge man who clearly did wrong to his son.

    I don't get it- a good Dad is being hated on a bad Dad is having people trying to defend him..What's wrong with this picture here? Why don't we praise the good, stand up Dad and put down the Dad that clearly did wrong. Are we really that backwards in today's society? I swear sometimes people just have no clue and just want to hide behind a keyboard and be all high and mighty because they have a screen to hide behind. Urgh, just urgh....is it really that hard to pat someone on the back nowadays and say 'good job' and is it really that hard nowadays to know a good Dad when you see one?