Month: April 2014

  • I've come to accept the series finale of HIMYM*Spoilers inside*

    Okay, so its Friday now and the series finale of "How I Met Your Mother" aired on Monday. At first, I was a bit disappointed with the ending but after a long time thinking about it and certain other things in the series and re-watching the finale, I do in fact see the beauty in the finale.

     

    Many people are angry because the Mother dies. Well, my husband isn't sure she's dead since in the end they say 'Its been 6 years since Mom's been gone.' and well my husband says that doesn't mean for sure that she's dead. Seriously though, you don't just up and leave someone who takes care of while you are in the hospital. Part of the reason why I was upset at first was because I was expecting the story to be all about the mystical meeting of the Mother. Yes, they do have a grand mystical meeting for the first time and the relationship is kind of only glossed over probably because the kids already know about their wonderful relationship and he is after all telling the story to his kids. It is really a bitter sweet ending. Also, within the season we learn that the Mother aka Tracy loses the 'love of her life' very early on and she learns how to move on after that and learns that people have more than one great love of their life. Naturally, Ted takes what he learns from his wife and moves on and back to Robin. Clearly, Ted and Robin weren't a good fit in their 20s or even 30s but once Ted has his kids(which Robin didn't want and can't have) and Robin got to travel the world they do become a perfect fit.

     

    Was Ted just holding out for Robin? No, I don't think so..He made it very clear in his story that he did love the Mother. He wanted to make sure his kids understood how much he loved their Mother but also he wanted to let them know what he feels for Robin and what he has always felt for Robin just the timing wasn't right. Now, mind you once you get the whole picture quotes like this one: timing

    Take on an entirely new meaning once you look at the big picture.

     

    Also, if you remember certain things through out the seasons we do get hints that the Mother is dead. Anyone remember the episode "Time Travelers" there's tons of little hints in there that the Mother is in fact, no longer alive. Another little detail that I think people forget is that in one of the earlier seasons where they all start and stop smoking Ted goes through and says when everyone's REAL last cigarette took place. If you remember Ted states that his last one is right when he meets the Mother. I've heard the theories that the Mother died of cancer and maybe that is true and maybe she had battled cancer before hence why Ted stops smoking upon meeting her. It also could explain why through out the last season she is always the hopeful, innocent and positive one rooting the group on in numerous instances. Maybe she is the way she is because she did battle cancer and won once.

     

    People are also forgetting that this series was based off of the two creators. One of them made himself Marshall and the other creator made himself Ted. Naturally, there won't be a fairy tale ending since the series was based off of their own experiences and their own stories so of course, there won't be a full on happy ending. Ted and Robin's story does happen in real life and more than you may think thanks to Facebook. I know of one couple who at a later age ended up finally being together after 25 years of just being friends for this or that reason so in the end it is a pretty real ending. I'm also very certain that this ending will make numerous ex's of the world hope. I mean, if you can break up with someone and remain friends maybe there's hope that you can finally get 'the one that got away'.

     

    I do wish they would have told us more about the Mother through out the story telling. I think all we got was bits and pieces of her. Right now, many people are guessing on specifics. Maybe that's what they wanted. Ted and Tracey do have a wonderful and magically first meeting that is very touching and maybe that's what they wanted us to take away from it. He was also at her side when things got bad and she got sick. There is one line in the finale that does bother me though. Ted states "I knew I had to love this girl." Its the fact that he has he had to love her that bugs me. If they didn't want people getting upset thinking he was not in love with the Mother they should have had him saying he WANTED to love her. Those two words maybe would have kept certain fans from getting so angry thinking that he didn't really love Tracey.

     

    I know people are also getting all upset over Barney going back to his old ways after his marriage with Robin ends. Seriously, they were clearly stating how many second thoughts both of them were having so naturally it wouldn't last forever like Marshall and Lily.  Yes, all the character development went out the window but you can't tell me that you've never watched yourself or one of your friends go back to 'their old ways' after a bad break-up. In a sense that is very real. I do wish they would have given the Mother of his kid a name but maybe there's a reason for why they didn't give her a name.

     

    Marshall and Lily, we all knew they would remain together and still be the awesome and cute couple that we have grown to love over the years. They had been the strong couple since that one break up in the first season. Yes, and according to Twitter and Allyson Hanigan they did shot a scene where the bet on if Ted ends up with Robin is finally settled between the two of them but it got cut.

     

    I do however want to know what happened with the pineapple. Why will no one tell us what happened with the pineapple? Where did it come from? Why was this never covered in the final season? Again, this answer is suppose to be on the DvDs but we generally don't buy DvDs so I guess I have to wait until someone uploads that information onto YouTube.

     

    Oh well, I don't know about anyone else but I have come to terms with and now do like the series finale of "How I Met Your Mother". I don't know if any of the other outraged fans will join me in this line of thinking but I've changed my mind on the finale after running through all the past seasons. Yes, our view of the show has been changed but its still a fitting ending.