Month: May 2014

  • So, there's this thing called Mother's Day coming up.

    There's this thing called Mother's Day coming up this Sunday. From a stay at home mom's standpoint I look at the holiday a lot different. Since I am the one whose up every morning and going to and from school, I am the one taking care of things in the middle of the night when something happens(that happened this weekend), I'm the one handling homework for the most part, buying/picking out clothes for the day, handling meals etc etc..Yeah, you get the idea..Anyways, since I'm the one whose here handling everything and dealing with everyone 24/7 I have one simple wish for the day: Leave me alone! Yes, I know certain Mom's want to spend the day with their kid(s) but seriously, I'm around mine all the time and when I do get a break from her as of late I have other stuff to take care of around the house.

     

    Oh, and I don't want clean up after people either..Its nice to not have to cook especially since I always cook on Sundays but I don't want a HUGE mess to clean up on Monday. It does defeat the purpose of the leave me alone holiday when I have to clean up dirty dishes and pots and pans from people. There have been times when I've gotten sick and I swear people forget how to run a dishwasher and the second I'm healthy I end up doing dishes for days which isn't really my favorite thing to do.

    I would always love, love to be able to sleep in. I'm up at 6am every weekday morning to see my daughter off to school and sometimes I even get up at 6am on the weekends too just because my body wants to be awake. Of course, my idea of sleeping in nowadays is 8am..I know, lame but oh well, having a little one has set off my body clock big time or as I've heard it called "The Mommy Clock". I wouldn't mind being able to sleep in and have breakfast made for me on top of that but hey, I normally make brunch on Sundays anyways so it wouldn't bother me that much to have to make my own waffle.

     

    This year I have even informed my husband what I want him to cook for dinner for me. Typically in our house we do a big chicken dinner on Sundays which ends up involving large amounts of clean up. Anyways, I thumbed through recipes today and I pin pointed what I wanted and got my husband to agree to make it for me. I'm going buy everything he needs to make it and pretty much make it easy for him to make me dinner. The last thing I want on Mother's Day is spending the day not knowing what we are going for food only to end up having to dig through the fridge and the pantry trying to decide what to do for food. So yes, I am taking care of every detail just so that I have very little to do on Mother's Day.

     

    In years past something has always gone wrong. One year my Mother's Day was wonderful until we started playing the Wii together and then my daughter had a fit because it wasn't her turn on the game and I got a controller thrown at my head..Good times, good times. I have come to accept that there will be a fit in there somewhere no matter how much time I try to plan things out so my day is fruitful.  Of course, I know I'm going to end up helping my daughter with her homework that day no matter what..(Sunday is homework day here) and I'm planning on making my bread on Saturday instead of Sunday. Yeah, I know but I'm going to make a chocolate bread that goes well with ice cream for selfish reasons.

     

    Anyways, I will have a nice Mother's Day one way or another even if I have to help a little bit with the planning just to make sure everything works out. Hey, the hubby and I pick out each others Christmas gifts together so me planning out 'my day' really isn't that much of a deal for me. This year very little will go wrong if I have anything to do with it.