November 9, 2013

  • Maybe I was wrong.

    So, after having taken my daughter to the dentist not once but twice with one more visit to go next month before we're back to just cleanings AND one exam myself and a consultation appointment. I do believe I may have been wrong about dentists. Mind you, my little bit of work is taking place once the new year begins but I am not as afraid as I once was..why?

     

    To put it simply, I may have taken a long time to pick out a dentist and a taken a little longer than I hoped to get over my fear to go or even to get over my fear even to take my daughter BUT the dentist I found is gold. My husband called to set up me my appointments this week and they were thrilled that I was going to go through with it and not chicken out. My doctor also knows about my anxiety and decided to not give me an anti-anxiety pill because it may make me cloudy and since I have a little one, I wouldn't want that which is true. Now, sure..I may still freak out before but I have my ear buds in hand and I'm ready. My dentist has given me ways to work through my fear and face it. I mean come on, my daughter had a few teeth pulled and some cavities filled and sure, she was upset for about an hour but after that she went back to playing and being her normal self rather soon after her work. If she can do it, well then so can I!

     

    I also realize that "Little shop of horror" is a big root of my fears. littleshopdentist

    Yes, I know it seems silly but I watched "little shop" when I was young...WAY young and I had a male dentist at the time which only made things worse. This time around I picked a female dentist- so yeah, obviously I'm not seeing images of Steve Martin singing about being happy about creating pain in their patience.

     

    Needless to say, I think I can do this and once its done I will be happier. I love taking pictures and I hate having to hide my teeth in pictures..period. It'll be nice to not have to worry about hiding my teeth and what people will think...so you know what, I'm going win over this fear..Once and for all!